austria, Travel

Beautiful Vienna

If you were to ask me where is the most beautiful place that I have been, I think I would have to say, hands-down, it’s Vienna. I was lucky enough to visit the capital of Austria for one afternoon (far too short a time!) during my road trip holiday. Here’s everything I managed to pack in to the day:


My first destination when arriving in the city was HundertwasserhausSurprisingly enough, this colourful building with its unique architecture is actually nothing more than an apartment building. Created by the artist Friedensreich Hundertwasser and architect Joseph Krawina, the 1980s building is famous for its uneven floors and the garden on the roof, complete with trees that grow inside the rooms. In all honesty it was like standing outside a magnificent art sculpture, I can’t believe that people actually live inside one of Austria’s cultural landmarks.

IMG_8183

Now when I say that Vienna is the most beautiful place that I have been to, it’s mostly because of this picture. After the Hundertwasserhaus, I was whisked away to visit the gardens of the Upper Belvedere, the summer residence for the Prince Eugene of Savoy as well as possibly one of the most beautiful palaces I have ever seen in my life. I’m certainly not a big architecture fan, but this place was stunning. I wish we had more time to look around inside, however I was quickly rushed on again to an outdoor market, and then to St Stephen’s Cathedral, in the heart of Vienna city centre. St Stephen’s was breathtaking, and so tall I could not even see the top of it. I remember saying to my friend as we walked towards it ‘I can’t imagine what it must have been like to build a building like that by hand… I can’t even build Lego’ and it’s true!

My day in Vienna was a non-stop, rushed affair. We flitted around the city from place to place and only stopped to eat late at night, in an underground beerhall behind St Stephen’s. This is where I experienced the most delicious Austrian schnitzel, a dish I had not tried before. My mouth waters whenever I think about it, so if you’re ever in Vienna please check out Zwolf Apostelkeller for some amazing wienerschnitzel. The company and the atmosphere was amazing, and combined with the good food we were able to take some time to really relax and enjoy our surroundings. Then it was back to the hotel and time for bed… or not.

IMG_8266

This is the Wiener Riesenrad, aka the oldest Ferris Wheel IN THE WORLD. We were slightly, erm, distracted by the famous Prater amusement park on the way back to our hotel after dinner, and on getting inside we were eager to have a ride on the ancient big wheel, constructed in 1897. It was kind of terrifying, stepping onto the creaking wooden carriages (some of which were set up like a dining room, complete with cutlery and glasses?), but once we were raised up into the sky the whole of Vienna stretched out before us. It had been such a long day, but this truly made it the most magical night.

I definitely didn’t have enough time to do everything I wanted to in Vienna, so I need to return… even if it’s just for more of that delicious schnitzel! 

3 thoughts on “Beautiful Vienna”

Leave a Reply

