Student Life, Year Abroad, year abroad 2016-2017

I’m Going on a Year Abroad?!

One of the reasons that I picked the university course I do is because of the integrated year abroad. After three years of hard work and late nights in the university library, I am given the opportunity to put down my books and jump right in to speaking and using my target language every day. So far, the thought of this has been just a distant memory… until it hit me that I am actually going in eight short months! My year abroad is happening.

Most university students in Europe have the opportunity to takeย a year abroad through the Erasmus program. This fantastic organisation allows us to transfer from one European university to another in order to complete a year of study. As exciting as that may sound, I have actually opted for alternative way to spend my compulsory time overseas. I have applied to the British Council English Language Assistant program, and I could not be more excited. If I am accepted, I will have the opportunity to work in classrooms teaching my native language and sharing some of my own culture with foreign students. To be honest it would be a dream come true… so naturally I want to blog about it, every step of the way!

Have you ever participated in a year abroad?

12 thoughts on “I’m Going on a Year Abroad?!”

    1. We are very lucky over here that once you enter the Schengen zone it’s very easy to move between European countries! I’m hoping to write more blog posts about my travels soon ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  1. We envy you, me and my wife are considering European Union citizenship. The thought of being able to move and work freely amongst different countries is a polyglot’s dream. Looking forward to hearing about your travels.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey there! I did an Erasmus year abroad last year in Spain but I really wish I had done the British Council program instead. I’m sure you’ll have a great time and I’m looking forward to reading all about your travels ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for commenting! I’m really enjoying having a read through your blog just now, I’m glad that you are enjoying reading mine!

      Like

Leave a Reply

